Scribbles

The Prompt: Unusual Ways of Seeing

I knew what view I wanted the minute I saw this prompt. I wanted to write from the eyes of a dog. With my Yorkshire Terrier (Edgar) rooting me on from the arm of the couch behind my head, I set to work. And not ashamedly, this story might be my favorite that I’ve written so far. (SuperGirl being a close second.) 

Enjoying this bit of writing was a surprise to me. I had talked to a friend about a book series told from the view of a baby. I thought to myself, “That’s got to be hard. What can a baby do? Talk about how delicious his thumb tasted that day?” But despite my original doubt in a point of view from a “dependable” character (One that depends on another character to make complete sense,) I wanted to attempt a funky point of view at some point in my writing career. 

So grab your furry friend if you have one and get a-reading. Enjoy! 

                                                      Scribbles 

My name is Scribbles. I am the family’s pet Yorkie.

Something terrible has happened to my owners, but no one will explain it to me. The men with the funny blue uniforms think that just because I can’t speak their human words, I won’t understand them. I try to call attention to myself, but when someone mentions the word “muzzle,” I instantly quiet down.

I don’t really remember much of what took place since I can’t remember anything that isn’t recent. What I do remember is the feeling of panic. Of a room too hot. I remember feeling alarmed and thinking that my family needed to get out. I barked, but no one heard me.

I think someone pulled me out of a smoky crate. I didn’t recognize my rescuer, but I didn’t struggle against him since he was trying so hard to save me.

Now I remember. There was a fire. That’s why smoke filled my crate.

Looking up, I realize that our neighbor with the hot-headed poodle is holding me. She has tears on her eyes, and I do my best to comfort her. She doesn’t want to be licked though and tells me “no.”

Everyone looks so sad. I try to pick out the key sights. There are several car-beasts with flashing suns on top of them that line the streets. The men in the uniforms talk with men in heavy clothing similar to the man that rescued me. Normally I would sound alarm at them, but for today, they are my friends. Besides, I can still hate the mail man.

I hear a low voice coming from behind a crumbling wall. My tail swings back and forth before my brain can even register that it is the Alpha Figure in my home. I think my humans call him “Honey” or “Dad.” His voice is firm like when he is giving me a command. I think he sounds sad too. But with this neighbor holding me, I can’t run over to check on him.

There are so many people standing on the surroundings lawns. They point at what used to be my house. Some are crying and some are talking to people with microphones. I know what a microphone is because I tried to eat one when I was a puppy. My backside hurts from the memory.

I recognize another voice coming from the porch area. It’s the Mother Figure. She’s sobbing and pointing at a large, white car-beast. Whatever is inside there is a cause of panic to her. I don’t like the panic. I bark before I have the thought to hold it back. Mother Figure looks my way. For some reason, I don’t make her smile. I normally do. I whimper.

Another neighbor that smells like coffee beans comes and joins the one holding me. “Hey, I just talked to Jake from down the road. We are going to get a collection going for the Millers.”

Poodle-Owning Neighbor loosens her grip on me. I hope she doesn’t drop me. “We don’t have a lot of money right now, but I do have some extra furniture in our garage. We haven’t even taken the plastic off of them from our last move so they should still be clean.”

Coffee Neighbor writes something down in a notebook. I tried eating one of those too before. “Okay. I got the Hayes and the Mortens volunteering to cook some meals. Would you be interested in cooking this Friday?”

“Absolutely.” Poodle Neighbor says. “Put me down for a tater-tot casserole.”

“Already done,” Coffee Man replies. “We’ll be in touch.”

I wish I could tell everyone “thank you.”

And then I hear a sound that breaks my tiny heart. It’s the sound of my Favorite Figure crying inside of the white car-beast. I think she is scared. I think she is hurt. I kick my legs against the Poodle Neighbor, trying to make my way over to her. I bark one. Twice. Then I don’t stop barking. Let them muzzle me! I don’t care!

New hands are grabbing at me now. It’s the Alpha Figure. He thanks the Poodle Neighbor and walks me over to the white car-beast. He pets the top of my head and says, “At least everyone made it out alive.”

I should be happy with this exchange, but I’m not. I only have one thought on my mind. My Favorite Figure. I’m always there for her when she cries. I never let her down. We near the Mother Figure who smiles despite her wet cheeks. “The doctor said Katie will be fine. At most, we are looking at some scarring.”

Alpha Figure is still petting me. It is a nervous movement that is setting me on edge. “Okay, good. I’m just… I can’t believe this is happening, Mary. No smoke alarms went off, nothing. We would have slept through the entire thing if Scribble’s barking hadn’t woken us up.”

“I know.” She reaches out and takes me from Alpha figure’s arms. “He’s our little hero.” I wave my tail for her benefit, my goal to comfort Favorite figure still unchanging. “I was so worried that he would have been…”

“We are safe now,” Alpha Figure sighs.

“And to think, if Katie hadn’t had that nightmare that made her want to sleep with us…” Mother Figure squeezes me too hard. She does that sometimes. “I’m going to go show her that Scribbles is all right.”

Alpha Figure kisses Mother Figure. “I’m going to see what survived the fire. Let me know if you need me. I love you, Mary.”

“Love you too, Mike.”

She turns towards the cries of my Favorite Figure. When Favorite Figure sees me, she screams, “Scribbles!”

Mother Figure hands me over to Favorite Figure. I sniff her face and lick her chin. When Favorite Figure is laughing instead of crying, I curl up on her lap. I don’t feel as nervous anymore. I can smell burnt flesh when Favorite Figure pets me, but I don’t mind. Even when she points out that it is my fur and skin that has been burned.

A woman in white reaches over to me and puts something cool on my back. “I’ve called an animal ER that will take care of your little hero. They should be here soon to take a look at him. But as far as I can tell, he should be fine.”

“Thank you,” Mother Figure says. I bark my thanks as well.

Favorite Figure rubs behind my ear, making me very, very sleepy. I yawn and look over my shoulder at Favorite Figure. She smiles back so I know she will be okay.

With everyone safe, I go to sleep.

Because I can, a picture with my hubby and my Yorkie. I lurv these guys.

Because I can, a picture with my hubby and my Yorkie. I lurv these guys.

1 Comment

Filed under Sarah

One response to “Scribbles

  1. monica

    So cute! I really liked how the dog identifies family members not by name but by position. Yay for Yorkie love =)

Leave a comment